Meet the team

Great Ayton Methodist Church relies on a great many people who help in many ways to support the worship and work of the church. From making coffee, helping tidy the building or helping with activities or events to taking on a leadership role, help is always welcome.

Under the direction of the church council, the minister and leadership team are responsible for day-to-day decisions and leadership. You can meet the leaders and other key people you may come across below.


Rev Rob Weir


Our minister is the Rev Rob Weir. Rob joined us in the Stokesley Circuit  in September 2021 from Whitchurch where he served as minister for eight years. Rob is married to Fiona who will, soon, also be a Methodist minister. Rob and Fiona have two teenage children, Sam and Abigail.

Leadership team and church officers.

Sally Chaplain

Lead for children and young people

Ruth Smith

Lead for church in the community

Eileen Cowen

Pastoral secretary and lead for pastoral care

Chris Stokeld

Lead for worship (including house groups)

Jeanette Hardy

Senior service steward (service arrangements)

Brian Hull

Lead for property and administration

David Sills

Church treasurer and finance lead

Steve Smith

Lead for IT and communications

Peter Jackson

Church safeguarding coordinator

Ruth Smith*

Church secretary and administrator

The leadership team is made up of people appointed by the general church meeting as church ‘stewards’. This is a specific term within the Methodist Church. They can serve in this role for up to three years and can be elected for an additional three years up to a maximum per, of six years. Each are responsible for a specific area of the church’s mission.

*The church secretary is not a part of the leadership team but is a key point of contact in the church.